Founders Opportunity Scholarship Endowment

The Founders Opportunity Scholarship Endowment is the single largest scholarship program held by the South Plains College Foundation. Established in 1998 as part of the SPC's 40th Anniversary, the Founders Endowment awards general academic scholarships to incoming freshmen who graduate from service area high schools and beyond.

The Founders Endowment honors the member of the 1956 Citizens Committee that garnered state and community support for the establishment of South Plains College in 1957. These founding fathers believed that the region's high school graduates and young adults needed greater opportunity to realize the dream of a college education.

The endowment currently totals in excess of $2.3 million. A long-term goal of $3 million has been set for the fund. Proceeds from the annual Scholarship Gala and the SPC Scholarship Golf Scramble, as well as contributions and grants from individual donors and private foundations, help the fund grow each year.

The CH Foundation, established by the late Christine DeVitt, has been a primary contributor to the Founders Opportunity Scholarship Endowment. Named a Pacesetter for 2004 by the Foundation Board of Directors, The CH Foundation has contributed $525,000 to the endowment since 2000.

The fund will award $80,000 in scholarships to incoming and returning South Plains College students for the 2013-14 academic year. The majority of these students will be first-generation college students.

Contributions of any amount to the Founders Opportunity Scholarship Endowment are always welcome.


1956 Citizens Committee

Orlin L. Brewer, Chairman
O.W. Marcom
T.O. Petty
C.M. Phillips, M.D.
John Potts
Walter L. Reed
J.G. Stacy
Robert C. Walker, Jr.
Orville R. Watkins
La Vern McCann


instagram  flickr button  

Press | Facebook | iTuneU | Listen Live to Texan Radio | MySPC | Blackboard | Contact Us | Student Consumer Information