DRB. Holidays

The college observes seven (7) holidays each calendar year with pay for employees who are regularly assigned to work schedules of more than thirty (30) hours a week. The college President is privileged to adjust the actual observance of other holidays so as to permit efficient academic schedules.

The seven (7) holidays observed are:

  • New Year's Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Martin Luther King Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day

Employees on leaves of absence are not eligible for holiday pay. Employees who are not scheduled to work during periods in which holidays occur are not eligible for holiday pay. Part-time employees paid on an hourly basis will be paid their normal one-day rate for legal holidays observed by the college. On those occasions when the college is closed on Friday after Thanksgiving, and when the employee is not on-duty, holiday pay is not authorized. For example, nine-month employees are not paid for Memorial Day or July 4.

For those eligible for holiday pay and who record time worked (non-exempt) for pay purposes, holidays are not considered as hours worked for overtime pay calculations. Employees in this category who are required to work on observed holidays will be paid one times their regular rate in addition to their regular rate of holiday pay.


At the college's discretion, certain breaks may be authorized to conform with academic scheduling of classes. Examples of such periods are Fall, Christmas and Spring Breaks and are not guaranteed that they will occur year-to-year. Fall, Christmas, and Spring breaks are paid days off only employees scheduled to work a minimum of thirty-four (34) hours per week.


instagram  flickr button  

Press | Facebook | iTuneU | Listen Live to Texan Radio | MySPC | Blackboard | Contact Us | Student Consumer Information